Costuming Your Dog for Howl’oween..As I See It 10.28.11

Pet Parents here’s the truth as I see it. And I will state for the sake of 100% transparency, for those who haven’t been reading this blog – I am an Authorized Vendor at a HUGE Howl’oween Costume Dog Parade/Vendor Fair & Adoption Fair this weekend. I will have closeouts of Dog Halloween accessories for sale. I’ve had 2 costumes this year. A Clown( sold) & a Rocker Girl Skeleton Embossed Tutu. I don’t care for the idea of full costumes on dogs, but I have no problem with hats, collars, bandanas, ties, accessories.

For the most part, dogs are not dolls. They are not here for us to dress up any way we feel like it for as long as we feel like it. Now don’t get me wrong. Chazz has a couple of t-shirts, a hoodie, a coat, bandana, even a bathrobe. I use these things on him when I think the situation warrants it.

Dressing your pet in costume (this goes for cats, ferrets, whatever you’ve got) is a once a year activity…for a limited amount of time.

Chazz won a contest offered by The Daily Kibble in conjunction with In The Company of Dogs .

Here he is with his prize, The Angel Dog Costume:

For the record, he appeared fine with the wings, wasn’t crazy about the halo. As soon as two photos were taken the costume came off of him.

ChazzTheDog as The Angel


Let me know your thoughts about pets & costumes. Leave a comment or email me at adoptedmomtochazz@gmail.com

Well, here’s hoping you & your pets have a Happy Howl’oween; Safe & Fun for all 4-legged & 2-legged creatures. Skeery, Woo!

About adoptedmom

Adopted Dog Mommy having an adventure with her new buddy, pal, fur-baby, Chazz the Terrier Shibu Ina mix.

Posted on October 28, 2011, in Adopted Mom To Chazz, LB Howl'oween Parade 2011, Pure Chazz and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I don’t think it’s for me to speak for all dogs. I will speak for me and DeDe. I don’t like wearing costumes and Jen does not try to dress us up. Costumes on me are more than annoying- they’re dangerous because I will try to eat it.

  2. I don’t care for fully dressing Toby. We got him a monkey that rides on his back. It has a strap that goes around his mid-section and a strap that goes around his neck. Other than the monkey sitting, there really isn’t anything to it. I wouldn’t ever dress him in complete costume. First, because he would never allow it! Second, because, while costumes are cute, it just doesn’t seem fair to my dog to do so. Now, that doesn’t mean I don’t like seeing the costumes people put their dogs in. Some are adorable. And honestly, I don’t see it as dressing up dolls. I imagine some people might but there are many others that do it because their dog is like a kid to them.

  3. This really answered my problem, thank you!

Leave a Reply

