Where Does Blogging Inspiration Come From? March 5, 2013

Sometimes I wonder where do writers gain inspiration from, for their work?  In this case I’m specifically referring to blogging about matters of interest to other pet parents.  I have been involved writing this blog for a little over two years. The same length of time since I adopted ChazzTheDog.  The blog has grown in ways I never would have imagined. Lately, I have been focusing on doing Dog Themed Book and Film Reviews. This is of great interest; and I believe Chazz & I have created a niche for ourselves with this effort!!

We will continue to provide reviews of appropriate books and films in the forseeable future. Pet parents seem to enjoy them, they provide a lot of interesting information and material for discussion, and are otherwise of value to the pet community.

So that brings us to the topic of this post.  While outside with Chazz The Dog the other morning…I ran into our US Postal lady.  Chazz always seems to greet her with a mixture of sounding the alarm – “Mom there’s somebody at our door!!“, in guard/security dog mode – as well as excited, anticipation. “Ooh Mom, maybe I am getting something special in the mail today. Hurry, hurry open the door let me look and sniff!”

Following an exchange of normal pleasantries, the postal employee turned to me and said matter-of -factly, “I notice your dog gets a lot of mail.”

Snicker… well under most circumstances I would find that an odd comment. But in this instance it is simply a correct observation. Any communications I have on behalf of my Blog in the US Mails..I use Chazz The Dog c/o B. Strunin in the return address. If I order any products for Chazz (and I do), I use the same return information.  So the mail personnel should be used to delivering mail addressed to the dog at this address. It should not come as a big surprise, unless the regular post person is on vacation and we have a fill-in.

I found it very amusing that she made this remark; but didn’t want to appear rude so I struggled to compose my face and mask my grin. Chazz was busy chasing leaves and such so he paid it no mind.

Now as a kid we had a family dog, several in fact over time. I don’t recall those dogs ever getting anything in the mail. No samples, no offers of pet insurance, no promotions from local vet hospitals…. nothing.  So does that make mail addressed to dogs a new phenomenon?

Further, I have actually received mail addressed to me from my dog????What!!  Now, I adore my dog absolutely. But even from my skewed point of view, Chazz is a regular,4-pawed dog, no opossable thumbs anywhere in sight.  Granted there is a picture on this blog of Chazz, sitting at the dining table writing out his doggie thank you notes ——–> but you never actually see him holding the pencil and writing. So, that mail is still a mystery. Note: I appreciate whoever has gone to the trouble & expense of mailing me a Valentine Card from Chazz as well as other special greetings. It’s a bit peculiar on the one paw, but I am rolling with it ; and choosing to think it is just another overly involved pet lover trying to spread good cheer through our furbabies.

 

Dogmail from dogsplash.com

Dogmail from dogsplash.com

Recently, I’ve read about people getting text messages from their dogs. In our today’s world of Social Media, and transparency– of animals having their own Twitter & Facebook pages, & You Tube channels – strangely enough this does not so much give me pause.

BuzzFeed on Facebook is a page with images of text messages between dogs and their humans.

At the risk of going astray of our topic, dogs have driver’s licenses.My dog has his very own Driver License attached to his collar around his neck,  and I carry a copy of it in my wallet.

You can get one for your dog from http://www.MyPetDMV.com online. Format your very own state’s license for your dog, cat, rabbit, horse,etc.

But mail to and from the dog? What do I make of this?

So it looks like mail for your dog is not that unusual. Mail from your dog a little more out of the ordinary.  Either way- there have been tests that most dogs recognize about 164 words/commands. Your dog may know more.  Whichever, it appears the dog will be able to check and read any mail he or she does receive.  Now, what about those Holiday packages?  Who’s sending and receiving all of those?!?!

 

About adoptedmom

Adopted Dog Mommy having an adventure with her new buddy, pal, fur-baby, Chazz the Terrier Shibu Ina mix.

Posted on March 6, 2013, in Adopted Mom To Chazz, Pure Chazz, Social Networking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. *chuckles* We doggies can actually type and most of us can hand write too .. it’s just that we hide it from you so you do it for us .. we’re the smart ones ! *more laughter*

    • Oh Thomas…how right you are. *giggle, giggle* I wish I could write sometimes. I would send you card all da way to your mailbox on the hill by your house. Pawmise. Tailthumps, wags, and licks!!

  2. I had to laugh…Gizmo has been good friends with his mail lady for a while now, but just the other day she asked me about all the mail Gizmo’s been getting lately…She told me he’s the most popular dog on her route …once our dogs get involved with social media there’s no stopping them

    • Oh, that’s a wonderful story! Isn’t it the truth? I’m glad you laughed…that’s what I was going for in part. I can imagine Gizmo gets a lot of mail. Boy some of us pet parents are really working our mail ladies overtime. Giggles. Thanks for taking time to leave a comment!!

Leave a Reply

