Chazz’s Literary Corner – Book Review & GiveAway 12.12.12

Chazz’s Literary Corner is proud to now review a new book from Hy Conrad and Jeff Johnson, Things Your Dog Doesn’t Want You To Know  published by Sourcebooks, April 2012. Genre: Pets, Humor

This book is a fun look at how we as humans struggle to figure out some of our best pups behavior.  With the help from some Courageous Canines, this book helps to unravel the questions that most dog owners ask themselves at one time or another.

Things YourDogDoesn't Want YouToKnow

The pages of this book are filled with howlingly funny stories and examples of dog behavior – most of us have seen from our own canines… and frankly never understood. Now, here for the first time…well to mix metaphors…the cat is out of the bag!

Authors Hy Conrad and Jeff Johnson, with an able assist from 11 talkative canines have cracked the code for the rest of us. You may laugh till you cry, it’s that good. Nice illustrations as well. Kudos Dean Stefanides.

“Anyone who has ever spent time with a dog has pondered the question, “What’s going through that little pea brain?”  Sure, there have been books written about what, if anything, the average dog is thinking.  But those books were all written by people.  Things Your Dog Doesn’t Want You to Know is written by, well, dogs.”

 

Things Your Dog Doesn’t Want You to Know answers the questions that dog owners have asked for centuries. The book is a collection of 115 humorous essays that reveal the truth behind some of the most baffling canine behavior, their hopes and dreams, their grudges and pleasures, and what they really think about us humans. Peppered with lively, clever stories and visually appealing photographs, Things Your Dog Doesn’t Want You to Know is a verbal and visual delight that is laugh-out-loud funny. If you have dogs, love dogs, or have ever been baffled by a dog, this book is a must-have.

 

Topics include:

  • My Life in Your Purse by Tinkerbell, the Chihuahua
  • Waiting by the Table (for food scraps, of course!) by Orson, the bulldog
  • The Bed Rules (Rule #1—It’s my bed) by Dimples, the boxer
  • The Reason I Ate the Sofa (leather tastes a lot like rawhide) by Axelrod, the yellow lab
  • I Can Poop the Second I Start My Walk (but choose not to) by Sophie, the cocker spaniel

 This makes a great holiday gift for the dog lover in your life. *Hint, Hint! 🙂

ChazzTheDog gives this book a 3.7 Paws Up rating out of 4

 

 

Check out just one excerpt……>

 

Ad now what you’ve been waiting for—-> the GIVEAWAY!!

 

GiveAway Entry Info & Instructions:

  2 Lucky Readers will win their own copy of Things Your Dog Doesn’t Want You To Know

 

1) Leave a comment at the end of this post answering the question: What baffling behavior does your dog do?                       (MANDATORY entry)

2) Follow @ChazzTheDog on Twitter

3) LIKE https://www.facebook.com/ThingsYourDogDoesntWantYouToKnow?fref=ts     on Facebook

dogreadingbook

Start Date: 12.14.12

End Date: 12.21.12

Winners will be announced at the Blog on: 12.22.12

Must be 18+ Yrs of Age

Winners will need to provide their mailing address to receive their book prize.

All Entries will need to provide an accurate email address to have their entries counted for this GiveAway.

 

Disclaimer: The thoughts and opinions expressed in this review belong to ADMTCTD and have not been influenced from any outside source. We received no compensation for this review.

 

About adoptedmom

Adopted Dog Mommy having an adventure with her new buddy, pal, fur-baby, Chazz the Terrier Shibu Ina mix.

Posted on December 12, 2012, in Adopted Mom To Chazz, Book Review, GiveAways & Contest, Pure Chazz, Social Networking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 55 Comments.

  1. I am dying to win this! Dakota will always put his face up to me and lick me and let me pet him. For my husband? He only shows him his BUTT to pet!

  2. “liked” them on Facebook under Caren Osrin Gittleman

  3. I follow Chazz on Twitter @DakotaSheltie

  4. Well it appears you and Dakota are very interested in being a winner. So good, good luck and I hope you will win!
    AdoptedMomToChazz

  5. @IcyPinkLemonade

    I love that excerpt, lol. That always baffles me about tulip, she checks her dish EVERYTIME she walks by it, even if she JUST ate. Also baffles me how she can wag her tail so much! It doesn’t get tired? Hehehe

  6. Glad you enjoyed it! The book is really good, filled with all sorts of stories of this type. I have entered you in the GiveAway and also gave you extra entry cux I know you follow Chazz on Twitter. Good, good luck.

    AdoptedMom

  7. Sanjee had to take another nap so I came to visit. That looks like a great book! I don’t have a dog, but friend’s dog loves to roll off the couch onto the floor and he looks surprised every time, even if he does it 10 times a night. I already follow Chazz on twitter. hehe

  8. *laughs* They’re exposing all our secrets !! Nan would like to know why my sisfur Elisabeth and I bark & make a BIG fuss whenever Pop (or anyone else, for that matter) gets close to her! He can’t even give her a cuddle without us poking our noses between them to pry them apart. If he tries to sit next to her on the couch, I appear outta nowhere to sit in the middle of them *chuckles* Nan says I’m possessive *smug*

  9. Looks like a terrific book, hope it doesn’t give all our secrets away!! Mom wonders why I’m so obsessed with the kitties’ food! She has to keep watch ’til they’re finished eating! We follow Chazz on twitter too! (@tildatoo)

  10. Bay Area Greyhound- Fort Myers Chapter

    I have 6 greyhounds and each one baffles me in a different way. One of mine will eat his dads cap as soon as he gets home from work and puts it on the couch but never touches anything of mine. Another one of my greyhounds sings to his dad every day when he comes home from work in a howl, we have recorded but when I come home he never sings to me only kisses. Another one Sophie my drama Queen will look right into my eyes as she wants to speak to me, she will come to get me and grab my arm with her nipping and move her head towardthe oor to take her out, when it is potty time. But I believe if she could talk she would, her and I will look at each other and know what the other one wants before anyone else does and we are already doing the said thing…. Another one of mine growls at all other dogs excet for their own sibling and they do everything together but they raced in totallly different states and kennels. They were separated at birth. Until I adopted them in two different states at a year apart.

  11. Pawwaves. thanks for entering the GiveAway with this comment. Do you follow me on Twitter? You get extra entry for that and for LIKING Things Your Dog Doesn’t Want You To Know on Facebook if you want to earn them. Either way you are entered.

    Thanks for the other info as well.

  12. When my dog was a puppy, he was never outside alone- always with me on a leash. But when inside, he would suddenly come running into the room very proud of himself- with a stick! He’s three years old now, and to this day I still can’t figure out how he was smuggling the sticks into the house or where he was hiding them!

  13. I followed on twitter.

  14. I liked on facebook.

  15. If you love dogs — and if you’re here at Fit As Fido, you must! — then you’re going to love this week’s giveaway. Things Your Dog Doesn’t Want You To Know is a hilarious book, told in the voices of eleven dogs who decide to “tell all!” The “authors” of this book include boy-crazy Long-haired Dachshund Gabby, German Shepherd Sarge who struggles to find a job that lasts, spunky and overly pampered Chihuahua Tinkerbell, and my favorite, very overweight Bulldog Orson. There are a number of other breeds and even a mixed breed named Moonbeam owned by a grown-up hippie.

    • We appreciate your enthusiasm for the book, however you did not answer the mandatory question in your comment as required in the instructions. I would also caution you about using my or anybody else’s blog to promote yourself or other websites, ie. Fit As Fido? If you are interested in winning a copy of the book, please follow instructions so we can count your entry.

      AdoptedMom

  16. hmmm………..something baffling……….. I can’t really thing of anything. Probably because I have asked trainers and vets every little possible question about Pepper. BOL!

  17. BOL!! I already follow you on Twitter 🙂

  18. I liked Things your dog doesn’t want you to know on FaceBook 🙂

  19. Helpful info. Fortunate me I found your website by chance,
    and I’m stunned why this coincidence didn’t happened in advance!
    I bookmarked it.

  20. Where dog training books simply give you techniques to train your dog, Dog Sense gives you the insight to understand how your dog thinks and understands the world. This insight helps you better understand how to communicate with you dog and correctly interpret their behaviors. While this book does not give instruction on training methods, it does explain the reasoning behind, and effectiveness of, positive reinforcement. It also explains the science and reasoning behind why dominating your dog doesn’t make much human or dog sense.

  21. I just could not leave your site before suggesting that
    I actually enjoyed the usual info an individual supply to your guests?
    Is going to be back often to check out new posts

    • We are glad you enjoyed your visit to our blog! Thank you for taking time to leave a comment. We enjoy getting the feedback. Be sure to come back soon. Lots of new info and GiveAways to enter and win!!

      AdoptedMom & ChazzTheDog

  22. Thanks in favor of sharing such a nice opinion, piece of writing is good,
    thats why i have read it completely

  23. You can definitely see your skills within the work
    you write. The arena hopes for more passionate writers
    such as you who are not afraid to say how they believe.
    All the time follow your heart.

    • Thank you for taking time to leave a comment. We appreciate your feedback here at our blog. Please come back and visit on a regular basis in 2013. Wishing you a Happy New Year!

      AdoptedMom To ChazzTheDog

  24. Hi there it’s me, I am also visiting this web site on a regular basis, this web site is in fact nice and the viewers are truly sharing fastidious thoughts.

    • Thanks for taking time to leave a comment. We appreciate the feedback. We try very hard to post interesting, fun, educational info for our readers. Please visit us often.

      AdoptedMomtoChazzTheDog

  25. I’ve been browsing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me.
    In my view, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the
    net will be a lot more useful than ever before.

    • Thanks for taking time to leave a comment. We appreciate the feedback. Check back with us here often. We try very hard to post interesting, fun, and educational information for our readers.

      AdoptedMomtoChazzTheDog

  26. I’ve been exploring for a bit for any high quality articles or blog posts on this sort of space . Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this web site. Studying this information So i’m glad to show that I’ve a very good uncanny feeling I found out just what I needed. I so much unquestionably will make sure to don?t disregard this web site and give it a look on a relentless basis.

    • Thank you for taking time to leave a comment. Glad you enjoyed the post. We specialize in reviewing dog themed books and movies Check out Chazz’s Goes to Da Movies Page for more fun posts

    • Thanks for taking time to leave a comment. We appreciate the feedback. We work hard at our blog to post good information for our readers. Check back often..

      AdoptedMomtoChazzTheDog

  27. I’m gone to tell my little brother, that he should also go to see this website on regular basis to take updated from hottest information.

    • thanks for taking time to leave a comment. We appreciate the feedback. Our blog tries to post interesting, fun, and educational information for our readers. Our specialty is reviewing Dog themed Books and Films. Check those out when you have time.
      AdoptedMomtoChazzTheDog

  28. I pay a quick visit everyday a few blogs and blogs to
    read articles or reviews, but this blog presents feature based
    content.

    • Thanks for taking time to leave a comment. We appreciate the feedback. We try hard to post interesting, educational, and fun information for our readers. Reviews of Dog Books & Dog Movies are our specialty. Hope you enjoy those.

      AdoptedMomtoChazzTheDog

  29. Yes, I used exclamations points!!! This quick, little read about eleven dogs, from hippy-dippy to obedience school drop out will have you howling. Of course, there is a dachshund involve and Gabby captured my heart. She is a bit (ok, extremely) spoiled and a bit ditsy but she makes no excuses for it. Tinkerbell, a Chihuahua, is tired of being stuffed in a purse and has lots of friends she likes to hang out with. Don’t piss her off since she might grab that blouse in a dressing room and accidentally use it as a nest in your giant purse which might lead to your arrest. Moonbeam has been adopted by a vegan, and must sneak out for any kind of meat which might just be making him a bit crazy, not to mention the name. Overall, this fun read is perfect to leave on your coffee table and it is easy to pick up, read a few pages and then come back to it, sort of like your dogs attention span when food isn’t involved.

    • do me a favor and stop writing reviews of books i have reviewed at my blog previously. these comments are just found to be annoying. If you want to leave other feedback about the blog comment away. go for it
      Thanks for reading our blog!

      AdoptedMom and ChazzTheDog

  30. This book is not an encyclopedia or a book of facts. So the stories in them are not meant to be a guidance to dog behavior. Some of the stories are probably way off the actual dog psychology charts, but that didn’t stop me from laughing and blushing through many of them. Some of them gave me a sense of deja vu (the story where a dog said its owner kept staring at its butt hole, when out for a walk, as if the owner is praying that the pooping happened soon – totally guilty of this!) Some of the stories are a little sad. For instance, one of the dog-narrators, Sarge, is a former police dog who sniffed pot and helped the cops locate it. Unfortunately, Sarge began to like the stuff too much and would taste a pinch before alerting any cop. Despite how very dog-like behavior that is, it made me a little sad. Of course, Sarge got fired from that job, so all’s well that ends well (even though Sarge was upset at having lost it).

    • Glad you were so taken with this post about this book. I enjoyed the book myself and am still reading through the many stories. Thanks for visiting my blog and taking time to leave a comment. We appreciate getting your feedback. Come back often and check out what we have to say……

      AdoptedMomToChazzTheDog

  31. What I enjoyed about this book is that it was really obvious that the writers not only love dogs, but understand dogs and what they’re up against having to live with humans. Without going straight for the teachable moment, the authors wove all kinds of helpful tips, advice, and dog logic into their stories.

    • Yep, these authors are great and a joy to work with! Thanks for visiting the blog and taking time to leave a comment. We appreciate your feedback.
      AdoptedMomtoChazzTheDog

Leave a Reply

