11.19.11 Chazz & Adopted Mom Start Training -WooHoo!

As I’ve previously posted, Chazz while he loves men, women, kids,  does not hold his furbros in the same esteem. Translation, Chazz is Dog/Dog Reactive. This has hampered our walks in the park, and just generally been inhibiting to his life overall.

I recognized this soon after he came home to live with me. ChazzTheDog is smart, and handsome, loving, and cute as a button – but he imagines himself  as a large dog trapped in a small body..and he’s just not havin’ it!! (Note: I verified this in reading up on his breed mix, and finding this right in the literature)

So, I have been on a journey to get him training for some months now. I “audited” several training classes offered near & far. I eventually picked out and  arranged for Basic Training.  The day of the first class as we waited for instructions to go to the site of the class; Chazz got out of his new collar & leash (purchased for class) and ran over to engage in provoking (read barking, growling, leaning in..but no biting or contact, thank goodness) another  dog easily 4 times his size that was walking by.  This incident ended badly, and I was so upset I was unable to get us to the class – & simply drove home.

Well, I’m happy to report that that situation has finally changed. Let me start with the fact that as new or inexperienced dog owners we need to be educated.  So to that end, my local independent dog store, Blue Collar Working Dog was hosting a 3-Hour ” Pack Leadership 101 Seminar” delivered by Urban Dog S.T.A.R. Dog Training. I along with my roommate, the previously mentioned “Uncle Bill” went on a Sunday evening, sat on some not the most comfortable chairs, and to the tune of a $40.00 couples fee, learned & gathered all sorts of valuable information about dogs, dog behavior, training tips, and probably most importantly insight into our dogs & the challenges we were faced with behaviors we were unhappy with & wanted to change…yesterday!!! This information was delivered in a relaxed, sometimes humorous, easily understandable way by Tanya, Dog Trainer Extraordinaire – & I believe everyone got their money’s worth.

I am not going to detail the seminar’s content. I encourage you to go to the website linked above. I do want to say that one of the most important things I got was that…it wasn’t my fault. I want my dog to be a happy, well adjusted dog who can do all the things dogs do sniff, go for walks, visit friends, eat, nap, play…and that wasn’t the case. And I didn’t have the knowledge or skills to fix that situation.  And I felt like a bad adopted dog mom.  Well not anymore.

Chazz & I had our first inhome training session with Tanya. It was good. I learned much, and Chazz had his little doggy world turned upside down for 2 hours. But he did well, and we both survived the whole thing, and it didn’t cost an arm & a leg.  I am looking forward to the next training session. There is a plan in place now to help Chazz learn new patterns and to correct problem behavior.

And you know what, it’s not Chazz’s fault either. He was not given guidelines  in his first three years, he had to fend for himself.  Anyone who knows me or even sees me with this dog knows I adore this little guy. Now, I have a renewed positive outlook that he is going to be helped. (yes it will probably get worse before it gets better) But in the long run he will be a happier, healthier dog living a great doggy life.

 

About adoptedmom

Adopted Dog Mommy having an adventure with her new buddy, pal, fur-baby, Chazz the Terrier Shibu Ina mix.

Posted on November 19, 2011, in Adopted Mom To Chazz, Pure Chazz and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Yay!!!!! I am excited to hear how things progress.

    • Thanx for the support. As Chazz’s Mom I am totally committed to this. Chazz probably has a few mixed feelings. See he is having to wear a correction collar during the 2 hour session – and is not used to that..but I think it’s gonna be okay. Please keep your fingers crossed.

  2. Wonderful! I look forward to reading more! Pepper is also Dog reactive, even after years of training, we go back to school in 2012.

  3. Sweet Pepper, dog reactive, I can hardly believe it. On the other hand her being a little girl I can completely believe it. The trainer & I spoke at length about smaller dogs.& this issue. Wish us luck & thanks for leaving a comment!

  4. wow yay for you and yay for Tanya and especially yay for Chazz! Congrats Chazz – don’t let that small dog thing get to ya. You are probably the cutest in the park!
    xox

    • Well, my mom does tell me all the time how handsome I am! BOL Thank you for reading ouor bloggy thing and leaving a comment. That means a lot & makes my mom very happy. Tawk 2 u later. Woof, ChazzTheDog

  5. Thanks for join in g our bloghop! *waggy tail*. Good luck with your training – I’m keeping my paws crossed for you guys.

    Lots of puppy kisses,
    Alfie

    • Your Welcome Alfie!!! And thanks for reading my bloggy thing and leaving a comment. That always makes my Mom really happy. Maybe if you come back you might end up subscribing or clicking LIKE on my Facebook Page, MuttMania. Have a great week, woof & Awoooooooooooooooo. (((((HUGS))))) Chazz TheDog & Adopted Mom To Chazz.

  6. Hey Chazz,

    So nice to meet you and your Mum – I found you on the Monday Mischief Blog Hop!! 🙂

    Glad to hear your first training went well – good luck buddy, it’s lots of fun to have Doggy friends – keep up the good work!!

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • Snoopy, I fink my mom missed ur nice comment…so we r late in getting back to you.Fanx for writing at my blog thingy.

      My next training session is this Friday 12.9.11. I hope it goes good, i see when it happens & prolly write story about it.

      Have a wunderful holiday season with lots of toys, snuggles, and treats pal. XO

  7. Hi Y’all,

    I’ll be here with paws crossed watching Chazz. I’m sure he’ll learn what fun we big guys really are!

    Y’all come by now,
    Hawk aka BrownDog

    • Thanks Hawk aka Brown Dog for coming to my bloggy thing & leaving a comment. That makes my Mom very happy!
      For sure, I want to be furriends with the big guys, cuz I think I am a big guy too. Awooooooooo. My mom told me to study & listen to the trainer; and we could learn together.

  8. We are in the training stages too. We are hoping one day to be certified as a therapy dog, but that seems a LONG way off. : ( I look forward to reading more about your learning! : )

    • Thank you for coming to my blog & leaving a comment. My Mom really likes it when people(or animals) do that.
      Yep, I think it will be lots better when I get training. Sometimes my Mom yells at me for not good behaviors, then we are both a little sad…but not for long. Awooooooooooooooo

Leave a Reply

